PDA

View Full Version : Transmission help

91prostar
05-29-2010, 09:05 PM
Ok so I went out today for a long time in the new boat ( new to me) as I have posted in the past the boat sat for a long time and when it was not sitting it was being abused.

I had some water in the trans so I replaced the cooler and I think that solved the water problem. Today I had to add fluid twice in two hours just to get it to pull and the bilge is covered in fluid. One would think it would be very easy to spot a leak like this but I can't. I am thinking about pulling the starter just to get a better view.. The rear of the trans is dry and the cooler lines dry as well..

My best guess is the front seal and my question is how hard is that to replace? Is it a DIY job or should I have it done. I have lots of auto experience but boats not so much...

1991 Tristar 190
borg warner 1:1 velvet drive

thanks in advance for your input

1990lmtd
05-29-2010, 09:13 PM
It probably is a front seal like you said. Removing the trans can be a DIY project it just may take a couple of hours and I recommend an engine lift to strap it and pick it up it probably weighs in excess of a 100 lbs and is hard to grab down there. To replace the seal is not that hard once the trans is out. Also keep in mind that the rear of the engine is supported by the transmission mounts and take a picture of where the solenoid and circuit breaker goes. What may seem obvious while dissassembling may become confusing during assembly. Good luck to you, I hope it all works out.

nitro5238
05-29-2010, 09:27 PM