PDA

View Full Version : Oil Change Help

zpacheco
05-20-2010, 05:48 PM
Alright, I just bought a 1994 Maristar and took it to the local Mastercraft dealer to get some stuff worked on. The strut was bent and prop needed to be fixed. They said it needs an oil change too. But, I don't want to pay 150$ for an oil change. Can anyone tell me how to do this myself. I have been trying to find some stuff online. Do i just need to get something like this

http://www.overtons.com/modperl/product/details.cgi?i=27266&pdesc=Oil_Extractor_6_liter&aID=601L9&merchID=4006

to extract the oil. Also, how do I run the engine out of the water. Where do I put the hose, so the oil can be warmed up. And the oil filter. Someone once told me to pour a lot of oil into the new one before putting it on. Is this true.

I'm new with this kind of work, but want to learn and do some of the work on my new boat myself.

Thanks for any help

etduc
05-20-2010, 06:17 PM
Alright, I just bought a 1994 Maristar and took it to the local Mastercraft dealer to get some stuff worked on. The strut was bent and prop needed to be fixed. They said it needs an oil change too. But, I don't want to pay 150$ for an oil change. Can anyone tell me how to do this myself. I have been trying to find some stuff online. Do i just need to get something like this

http://www.overtons.com/modperl/product/details.cgi?i=27266&pdesc=Oil_Extractor_6_liter&aID=601L9&merchID=4006

to extract the oil. Also, how do I run the engine out of the water. Where do I put the hose, so the oil can be warmed up. And the oil filter. Someone once told me to pour a lot of oil into the new one before putting it on. Is this true.

I'm new with this kind of work, but want to learn and do some of the work on my new boat myself.

Thanks for any help

Give us more info, on where you live. One of us, could be right down the road. Most on this board are glad to help. That being said....