PDA

View Full Version : Do-it-yourself Electronic Ignition

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:09 PM
Disclaimer: I am not an expert on installing electronic ignition. I recommend you follow all instructions and warnings from the manufacturer. Use this link merely as an informative tutorial, not as actual installation instructions.

Step 1 find the distributor and coil.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:09 PM
Step 2 remove the distribuor cap exposing the rotor and plate.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:11 PM
Step 3 remove the wires off the negative terminal of the coil.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:11 PM
Step 4 remove the wires and grommet exiting the distributor bowl.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:12 PM
Step 5 remove the 2 screws holding the plate to the distributor bowl.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:13 PM
Step 6 remove the plate.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:14 PM
Step 7 remove the packing material from the shaft.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:15 PM
Step 8 remove the set spring from the shaft.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:16 PM
Step 9 remove the shaft.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:17 PM
Step 10 check the springs and weights.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:18 PM
Step 11 install the new shaft.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:19 PM
Step 12 ensure the new shaft snaps down onto the dowels of the weights.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:19 PM
Step 13 Install the new set spring.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:20 PM
Step 14 apply oil to the new packing material and insert it into the shaft.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:21 PM
Step 15 run wires through hole in distributor bowl and install grommet.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:22 PM
Step 16 ensure gromment is fully seated.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:23 PM
Step 17 check with the instructions for gapping, but utlizing the gapper provided set gap and tighten set screw.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:24 PM
Step 18 install new rotor.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:25 PM
Step 19 install new distributor cap and wires.

BriEOD
06-23-2005, 02:26 PM
Step 20 attach the purple wire to the positive terminal of the coil and the black wire to the negative terminal of the coil.