PDA

View Full Version : 4160 rebuild??

1redTA
04-13-2010, 10:15 PM
The instructions look pretty bland or like an index instead of good instructions. Anyone have any pointers or helpful experience. I'm new to carbs, should of got a LT-1, and the rebuild kits has a load of small o rings and looks like some serious beer drinking. Thanks Art

the petronix ignitor II looks easy though

Mr_Woodcock
04-13-2010, 11:51 PM
If you were close I would rebuild mine with yeah! I love serious beer time!

Fasteddie
04-14-2010, 09:38 AM
I ended up purchasing a Holley carburetor book from my local book store. It covers various models but there is a section on the 4160.
The hardest part was removing the old gaskets from the bowl covers and metering plates. They were stuck on like glue. I soaked them in solvent and they eventually came loose. Be careful about using any tools to scrape the gaskets off.
Get a cuple of cans of good carburetor cleaner and spray every surface, port and orifice inside and out on the carburetor. A small tooth brush and pipe cleaners (M-16 gas tube cleaners) make good tools.
Actually, once you take it apart, the replacement o-rings and gaskets are easy to figure out.
Some rebuild kits do not come with the accellerator pump diaphragm or the secondary throttle diaphragm. I would replace the accelerator pump and check the secondary diaphragm carefully. the secondary diaphragm can be replaced later with the carb mounted on the boat.
If you send me an address I could mail you the book. I assume you are in Fort Campbell, TN?

TMCNo1
04-14-2010, 10:02 AM
Everything you may need is here for reading, copying or downloading,, http://www.holley.com/TechService/

CruisinGA
04-14-2010, 10:05 AM
Get this-
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/31YRRAQ9Q0L._SL500_AA260_.jpg

CantRepeat
04-14-2010, 10:11 AM
And compressed air is a must for blowing out the passages.

east tx skier
04-14-2010, 11:19 AM
I hate exploded diagrams. My local CC mechanic rebuilt mine for $150. :)