PDA

View Full Version : HELP!! Water in oil after 6 mos layout??

AUFan
04-13-2010, 12:23 AM
Greetings everyone, I am a TT noob and apologize if this has already been answered, but I can't find exactly the information I am looking for.

Here is the situation: I have a 1999 Mastercraft Maristar 210 VRS w/ LT1 motor. I went through and winterized it this past year. I pulled both port and starboard block plugs, disconnected manifold hoses on front and back of manifolds, emptied impeller housing, disconnected raw water line on both sides of trans cooler. It is hard from memory, but I remember at least 2-4 gallons of water coming out of the motor. I did all of this while the boat was sitting level in my storage unit (uncovered.) I did not fog the motor. I did not put antifreeze in the motor. I did not button the motor back up. I closed the hatch, put all the spare parts into a Ziploc bag and the boat was left in this condition for 6 mos.

I was changing the oil today and, when i pulled the plug out of the drain line, water was the first thing I saw. :eek: I went ahead and changed the oil and oil filter. I checked the fluids and everything looked ok. dipstick was nothing but oil. Fired up the motor on fake a lake. Let the motor come up to temp,pulled the dipstick, and chocolate milk...:confused: I will look in better light tomorrow, but I can't find any visible cracks on the block, the motor doesn't miss or knock, and the oil pressure responds quickly and appropriately when engine is revved (~80 psi for ~4K RPM).

My next steps: Run a pressure test on all cylinders, check to make sure freeze plugs are still intact, and make sure no water is visibly leaking down the block.

Possible Problems???: Exhaust Manifold Leak?, Timing is off?(i.e. exhaust valve open at same time as intake.), Bad Head Gasket?, Cracked Head?, Condensation from leaving block open to elements? (We did have one of our worst winters in Northern AL in 10+yrs )