PDA

View Full Version : Closed toe boots

CruisinGA
03-11-2010, 08:08 PM
I'm still fairly new to the wakeboard scene, having only wakeboarded a couple of times prior to buying our boat last July, so I'm still trying to figure out some things.

I see that the trend seems to be towards closed-toe boots. Any functional reason?

The reason I ask is because I'm casually looking for a new set of bindings, my board came with Hyperlite Sprints, and they are comfortable and easy to get on and off, but off little support on the foot. They only really get tight just above the ankle.

If anyone has any boot recommendations, I'd appreciate. I'm certainly an intermediate rider, but getting better fast. :D

Big Dogg
03-11-2010, 09:18 PM
Closed toed bindings offer more a custom fit. Most but not all are heat moldable to your foot so that they give a more natural feel and fit. This results in more comfort (toes dont fall asleep) and better support. More than anything, no slip forward can occur when you land. Ive never had it happen but I have heard of guys feet coming completely out through the front of the binding. However, the draw back is they are less universal, not going to have the ability to match the use of other riders. I love my closed toed Slingshot D2s, I had open toe CWB Zeus binding that I rode for 4 months before I got the slingshots and I will not go back. You will find that you can ride longer because your feet do not tire (sp?). As well as support that you will need for more advanced landings. I love my Slingshots but beings that you ride a Hyperlite you may want to look to something from them. I would recommend a low plate that puts the base of the boot closer to the board as well as a small plate that reduces weight. This ends up with more board control with more minimal movement, again more natural. I hope that helps

Damen
03-11-2010, 09:38 PM