PDA

View Full Version : Intermediate boards?

ccowell
03-08-2010, 10:36 AM
Ok its time for a new board package but not sure what to get.

I started a few years ago with a O'Brien board just to get into it, and now I think that I want a new board. My question is what should I look for in them or what have you guys been riding and have had good luck with. I know that this is a opinion question but I want your opinion to what I should get.

I am getting into it and can clear the wake and ride fakie and do most of the beginner things. I'm looking for a intermediate board now.

I have snowboarded for about 10 years now and ride a 155 darkstar and have been into wake for about 3 now.

Panda Cub
03-08-2010, 11:43 AM
My personal view is that wakeboard are nothing like waterskis, in the aspect that any wakeboard will work fine for both a beginner through advanced wakeboarder.

I recommend riding a hyperlite board, I have been riding the same board for 8-9 years now and it has held up very well.

jbkriss
03-08-2010, 05:51 PM
Might be a little difficult, but you should try to go to a proshop around you. I disagree about 'any wakeboard will work fine for both a beginner through advanced'. There are certain types of rockers that are better left to the advanced riders (three stage abrupt) and some that are easier for the average guy out on the lake (continuous). Rocker also affects how fast the board rides. The pop of some will boot you up higher while other rockers are designed to put you out in the flats. Best thing is to talk to someone in a pro-shop that deals several mfg's. Most will even let you demo a board if you put a deposit down since they know you're in the market for a new board. One other place to check is Wakeboarding Magazine. They have equipment reviews. wakeworld.com is another good resource.

damaged442
03-08-2010, 08:33 PM