PDA

View Full Version : Mechanical Fuel Pump Problem....maybe. Convert to Electronic Fuel Pump

ryangraham
12-17-2009, 12:58 PM
I've been chasing a huge problem for a couple months now. I will post more details once I've solved the problem, to hopefully benefit someone else down the road. In the mean time, I need some help/input.

Has anyone ever seen a Mechanical Fuel Pump fail, and as a result it pushes too much pressure. I have a Carter Mechanical Fuel Pump that is rated for the Holley 4160 Carb I have and should be delivering 6-8 psi. I haven't put a pressure gage on it yet, because I'm still tracking one down, but I suspect that is the cause of my problem.

My problem is that my BRAND NEW Holley Carb is flooding out the engine. Fuel blows right past the needle valve and keeps flowing into the intake even after you let go of the key. I've checked the needle valve, the seat, the float....all work fine and seal. The fuel is clean, and there is no water in it. All fuel lines are brand new. I know the Carb works because it has been bench tested on another engine. So, for whatever reason, my setup is causing it too flood.

My intuition tells me that if a Fuel Pump fails, it will fail by loosing pressure, not increasing pressure. But I think there is a pressure regulator built into the Pump that may have failed. Obviously I've got a pressure test that I need to perform, but again, in the mean time, can anyone share with me an experience about a mechanical fuel pump pushing too much pressure???

One more thing, has anyone converted from a Mechanical Fuel Pump to and Electrical Fuel Pump. I'm considering the Holley Blue Electrical Marine Pump.

Thanks!
Ryan

tph
12-17-2009, 01:26 PM
I had a similar problem. One of the flat plugs on top of the fuel bowls was loose. This allowed the needle assembly to continue fuel flow after the float topped out.

T-Rager
12-17-2009, 02:21 PM