PDA

View Full Version : 2002 X Star Speakers

StrangeLuv
12-09-2009, 02:57 PM
The Clarion speakers are worn out on my 2002 X Star. Does anyone have any replacement recommendations? I believe they are 6.5 inch speakers, maybe 5.25.

Thanks

DemolitionMan
12-09-2009, 03:23 PM

l8kebum
12-09-2009, 03:28 PM
definately rock the JL's

dpolen
12-09-2009, 03:37 PM
I saw a post on Wakeworld that Amazon has Polk DB651's for like $35 right now, I'm not a stereo expert, but I have these speakers in my boat and have been very happy with them.

I'm smart enough to know that these are in a different league than the JL's referenced above.

MasterCraftByDesign
12-09-2009, 04:16 PM
http://www.mastercraftbydesign.com/index_278.htm

corey
12-10-2009, 01:25 PM
You should be able to do an exact fit replacement with either Clarion or JL Audio 6.5's Historically the Clarions were less expensive but I think they are pretty close in price these days. http://marine.jlaudio.com/

Not to promotes my buddies LED rings again but 6.5" rings are in the works so pre-JL Audio boats can roll the LED's too.

Smoothie
12-10-2009, 03:37 PM
Should we replace with the component style speaker or just leave the clarion tweeter in and not hooked up and go with the coax JL? Mine are toast too as well as the woofer maybe but MC during that time set up a 6 channel system with a 4 channel amp. Poor design and cheeped out on an amp considering that was the flagship wake boat of its day. The sub is muddy. Curious does anyone know if that sub is in some sort of box like a sub should be or is it just a hollow cavity behind it?

nmcjr
12-10-2009, 06:21 PM
The sub is a free-air, i.e. no box. Also, yours may be blown, mine was. I replaced it with a new 12" sub with a custom box, and man what a difference.