PDA

View Full Version : Lesser known parts of the vehicle

Panda Cub
12-04-2009, 01:50 PM
As a PE/Health/Driver Ed teacher, I consider it my job to mess with my students 24/7, and make them constantly wonder if I am joking or serious. I am in the process of planning my Driver Ed curriculum for my students next semester and I am planning a lesson on the lesser known parts of the vehicle. Any suggestions?

All I have is:
knuton valve
blinker fluid
piston return spring
horn volume knob
wiper sharpeners
header lock bushing
interlocking transfer spanners
Door Spanners
O-pipe
clutch belts
exhaust booster
710 Cap

Any funny parts that I can use to mess with my students would be appreciated!

Jesus_Freak
12-04-2009, 01:52 PM
Excellent!

Anything from Star Trek (like dilithium crystal chamber), Back to the Future (Flux Capacitor) or Fletch (cannot remember right now, but it was in the airplane mechanic scene) would be good too.

ski_king
12-04-2009, 01:55 PM
Dont foget the Flux Capacitor.

But then again, it they thought the car had a flux capacitor, they may try to hit 88 MPH in the parking lot.

shunra
12-04-2009, 01:58 PM
Muffler Bearings

tex
12-04-2009, 01:59 PM
It's all ball bearings these days

TMCNo1
12-04-2009, 02:03 PM
Here's the best place to find your "Special Parts/Supplies", http://www.kalecoauto.com/

The best product on the site is the Seasonal Tire Air, change it every 3000K miles or at the beginning of each season along with the filter.
Everyone knows that temperature can have a great impact in your tire pressure. This is why you absolutely should use the correct air for your tires! For example, your car should usually have the tires set to 32psi. If you are using summer air in the summer, this is fine. However! If you use this summer air in the dead of winter, your may actually only be running at about 22psi! Each can will do one average sized tire. Sold in sets of 1 each.

Panda Cub
12-04-2009, 02:10 PM