PDA

View Full Version : Hard Cold Start @ Low Rpm miss

KHall
11-30-2009, 09:56 PM
Have a 03 X2 with 5.7L Predator TBI.

Will not start cold unless throttle is open. Once it starts it misses badly and produces whitish smoke. Still won't idle at this point. But would take off and cruise with throttle open. I have to jam in gear to get it away from dock, to keep well above idle to allow warm up. It remains finicky for first few pulls. It does have decent if not full power. thought i had no check engine light but just noticed the lights doesn't even come on at key on anymore.

Upon warming up to 150F plus for awhile it then runs fine, idles and re starts at an idle. 100 % difference.

Have just replaced: Spark Plugs, Cap/Rotor.
Plug Wires have about 175 hrs on them.
Compression Test: I did it wrong, but OK results. 200 ave, 190 low, 210 high.

Symptoms started occurring right after a fill at a gas station i have never used before. Prior to that started and run fine, except recent fuel pump issue. Guess I still need to pull some fuel and check for water, but could i be looking problems with the IAC actuator or TPS sensor? Like to go to dealer, but really can't currently afford to.

KHall
12-01-2009, 10:18 PM
Pulled the Idle Air Control Actuator and it opens some when ign key is on and closes upon key off. Will test temperature sensor next. Then i have to fix the check engine light and try to pull some codes. To bad i didn't notice the light was dead earlier.

JLeuck64
12-01-2009, 10:51 PM
Get that gas outta there!!!

JimN
12-02-2009, 05:29 AM
Take a fuel sample, preferably after either rocking the boat vigorously or trailering it. If you see water droplets or cloudy gas, get rid of it. The TPS and IAC have nothing to do with whitish clouds when it starts and you even posted that it started immediately after filling at a different gas station. Logic wouldn't point to any of the sensors.

KHall
12-02-2009, 08:29 AM