PDA

View Full Version : H1N1 flu vaccination poll....

bigmac
11-08-2009, 11:39 AM
Will you be getting vaccinated against H1N1 flu?

Just curious.

SkiDog
11-08-2009, 11:55 AM
1000 mg. EsterC is the ONLY vacination Dog needs!

trickskier
11-08-2009, 12:33 PM
Never received a Flu shot................Last time I had the Flu was 1979...............Cutty is great for medicinal purposes!!!..........;)

92 190 PS
11-08-2009, 12:36 PM
Not typically one to chime in on medical advice since I am by no means an expert, but had a fun week (so I thought I'd share) with the H1N1 vaccine (nasal spray one). My 8 and 4 year old got the vaccine at school this week. 1.5 days later the 8 year old had a temp of 102 and a nasty cough. Been going on for 3 days now and now my 2 year old daughter woke up in the middle of the night last night with the same thing. Again, not saying I would do anything differently if I would have known just sharing my expierence with the vaccine this week....

bigmac
11-08-2009, 12:48 PM
Not typically one to chime in on medical advice since I am by no means an expert, but had a fun week (so I thought I'd share) with the H1N1 vaccine (nasal spray one). My 8 and 4 year old got the vaccine at school this week. 1.5 days later the 8 year old had a temp of 102 and a nasty cough. Been going on for 3 days now and now my 2 year old daughter woke up in the middle of the night last night with the same thing. Again, not saying I would do anything differently if I would have known just sharing my expierence with the vaccine this week....

Yes, the nasal spray uses a live attenuated virus (unlike the shot, which uses a dead virus). It is likely more effective in preventing H1N1 in people between the ages of 2-50, but flu-like symptoms are relatively common side effects.

I had the shot the other day (too old for the spray) and had no issues.

SkiDog
11-08-2009, 01:06 PM