PDA

View Full Version : Wakeboard handle and rope combo help needed

LaRue
11-02-2009, 01:13 PM
just bought (2) CWB wakeboards for my son and I. While i have been skiing for 30+ years, next summer will be our first full summer of wakeboarding. I am looking for direction on wakeboard handle and rope combos. Couple of things i am unsure of...
Should i go with the no stretch rope or limited stretch?
Is there a better brand than another out there as far as durabilty/quality?
What it the maximum length i should get? Seems most ropes have 3-4 sections for optimum distance. (Boat will be a 2000 Maristar with no tower, at least not this summer :(
any help you can give will be appreciated.

mpabreo
11-02-2009, 01:24 PM
I'd suggest a no stretch rope, its what you and your son will want to grow into anyway so you should start with getting the feel of it. I've used Ronix and Accurate lines before, and prefer Accurate, their A-lines are solid and very durable. Plus, Accurate is a hyperlite brand therefore the customer service is unmatched. I've also noticed the A-line I use now is better constructed than the Ronix R8 line. As for handles, depends on personal preference. I used to ride with a thicker handle, used the Ronix Volt and One handles and had to have them replaced in a couple months cause the skin peeled away. I now ride a carbon Accurate handle, standard diameter, but also like the Chamois grips that are available. I cant comment on pro-line, but a lot of people like them.

As for you line length, it will likely take you a year or two to get past 70'(including handle). Get a 75' and you'll be good for a couple years. Hope that helps.

tr6coug
11-02-2009, 01:25 PM
I've got this rope:
http://www.bulletlines.com/thermal-coated-rope-p/27.htm

got it off ebay new for $50. Nice, no stretch and the vinyl jacket keeps it from tangling.

Wake2wake
11-02-2009, 01:34 PM