PDA

View Full Version : well, she left me straded....

SRussell
09-25-2009, 06:52 PM
What a way to start the weekend!
I have an 89 tristar 220 with the 454. Had it for about 3 months and it has been 100% reliable and strong. Anyway, rode down and dropped her in this afternoon for a quick ride since the wife and daughter are out of town and I had trouble from the get-go. She fired up right away and idled strong for about a minute then it started chugging. When I gave it a little throttle (in neutral) it started dying. Back at idle it ran rough but did not choke out. Now, I am not a mechanic of any kind nor do I play one on tv so I am using very elementary language. I walked it around the boathouse and let it idle for a few more minutes and it started hitting correctly. I idled around the slough and it sounded and felt fine so I headed out t o the main channel. Ran great for about 15 minutes then started chugging again. I almost made it back to the dock before it completely choked out. I spun it and it spun but did not start. waited.... again, no start only this time the starter kept spinning even after i took the key out. i had to disconnect the battery to stop it.
can i tell you how hard it is to paddle a Mastercraft!!!
Any ideas?
Thanks in advance!!!!
Russ

cbryan70
09-25-2009, 08:50 PM
Take to lakepirate about the starter spinning. Its the starter relay I beleive.....cheap part that caused the started to keep spinning.

etduc
09-26-2009, 11:37 AM
Take to lakepirate about the starter spinning. Its the starter relay I beleive.....cheap part that caused the started to keep spinning.

You have two different problems.
1) can't help you
2) You over heated the starter soleniod, fused the contacts together. Is a cheap part, but do buy a marine type. They last longer, due to being sealed. Next time, when you have starting problems. Do not crank longer than, 10 seconds. Let sit, for a minute or two.
Then try again. After a couple of trys, let it sit, a long time.