PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here with oil filter questions

TEAL98
09-24-2009, 03:17 PM
Hey guys, new to the site and also to the MasterCraft realm. I got into these boats originally because as far back as I can remember, my uncle was buying and selling MasterCrafts like I change my underwear, no joke. He was (and still is) a big time skiier, and I promised myself one day I'd have one of my own, and that dream came true about 3 weeks ago or so. I drove about 3 hours away to find a teal '98 with a hair over 400 hours on it, and now it's time to change the oil in it. The dealer I bought it from told me 15W40 non-synthetic, and I also talked to a dealer in MN that I just bought my boom from and they also said 15W40 is what is reccommended to run. I thought I had the LT1 until my uncle advised me it's the standard 350 Indmar, because it didn't have the "Corvette" valve covers. Well I bought the Delco PF454 for the LT1, but I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work on the regular 350? I also bought the Rotella T Shell oil for it (15W40), and planned on doing the oil change before my last weekend on the water here. All the boat dealers here are backed up for a minimum of 1 week and can't seem to squeeze my simple little oil change in. Somebody please help me!

~J

russlars
09-24-2009, 04:05 PM
15W40 is the correct oil recommended by Indmar. There is always a big debate about whether synthetic is advantageous. I just use good old Pennzoil 15W40 in my LTR.

JohnE
09-24-2009, 04:51 PM
Congrats on the boat and welcome to the forum.

Search the site and you will find tons of threads on oil. Especially if you search for posts by bigmac and JimN.

EarlyriserX9
09-24-2009, 04:52 PM