PDA

View Full Version : Speedometers Not Working

RickDV
06-05-2005, 11:27 PM
I'm new to Team Talk and new to Mastercraft. I just picked up a 1990 Prostar 190 and love the boat. Problem is that neither speedometer is working. I checked the intake pitots and they seem to be clear, at least immediately at the opening. I suspect that it is something other than a clogged intake since neither speedometer works.

Any suggestions??

BTW - while we are talking about speedometers...why are there two of them on my ProStar?

RickDV

east tx skier
06-05-2005, 11:39 PM
Welcome, Richard.

If they're not clogged, they might have frozen somewhere up the line. I'd give unclogging another shot. I usually get in there with a needle and it clears them right up. There are two because, at the time, that was required for tournament accuracy (pre speed control). If one failed, the other could be consulted.

PeteS
06-06-2005, 09:56 AM
Welcome to the site, Rick. If you've noticed any excess water in the boat, a line could have become disconnected someplace.

Between the pick-up, and the speedo, there are 3 potential places where the lines coule have come disconnected. Entering the ballast resovoir, exiting the ballast resovoir, and entering the speedo itself. You may want to investigate that also if you are noticing water in boat as I said before. Best of luck!

ski_king
06-06-2005, 10:05 AM
You might want to try disconnecting the hose from the speedo and blowing air from the lines from the front back with and without the pickup attached.

peason
06-06-2005, 10:27 AM
I have done the same thing that PowerSlot82 suggests on my 84 Nautique and it helped. I just disconected the tubes on the back of the speedo and used a bicycle pump to blow air through the line. Once in while driving the boat you may get debris clogging one of the pickups, either clean by had or put the boat into reverse to unclog.
Good luck

RickDV
06-06-2005, 10:31 PM