PDA

View Full Version : What would you have done in this situation? (Rider Safety)

RoverGuy04
08-03-2009, 01:16 AM
I'd like to get a little feedback from a few other boaters here who can hopefully understand a situation I was placed in over the weekend. I recieved a citation (code 655.2), which is a misdemeanor I might add, for speeding past a boat dock while towing a rider. So here is where the story begins, and before I start, I would like to state that I have been boating for over 13 years, possess a 6-pack captains license, and would consider myself to be very familiar with harbor and navigation code and conduct. On Saturday I was on friends boat, and he decided to head to a part of our local river that I was unfamiliar with. It's a rather skinny river full of skags and such, some practically in the middle of the river. Slightly nervewracking, but worth it for the glassy waters. The river is probably no wider than 250ft at any given point. So it's my friends turn to ride and he asks me to drive as I am the most qualified person on the boat this particular day. Of course I oblige and we are on our way with Mike on the wakeboard. About 5-10 mins into his session we approach a small private dock on my portside with a tiny aluminum fishing boat tied up to it. As I pass the dock for the first time, I am a good 200+ feet away from it seeing as how I am well over 5mph and am pulling my rider. After I pass the first dock, I see another large marina with many boats in the water about 1,500-2,000ft ahead. There was not enough room to safely pass through this part of the river, so I decide to turn around before entering their no wake zone and I begin to head down stream. As I complete my turn I notice what appears to be a North River or Jet Craft aluminum fishing boat of some sort following me rather closely, I'd say he was about 300ft off my transom and traveling at the same rate of about 25mph. Needless to say, the boat was a little too close for me with a rider in tow