PDA

View Full Version : Does the S&S have a clear coat over the glitter stripe?

brianaw26
06-01-2005, 03:51 PM
Iím finally getting around to posting here. I got my first mastercraft (81 S&S) in early Feb. Put a little work into it and have taken it out a few times. Other then a few problems everything has gone pretty smooth for a 25 year old boat.

I washed and waxed it as best as I could today in the heat of Texas but the boat looks good. I took some pictures and posted them in my gallery.

Now my question... :confused:

The stripe on the side and down the center of the boat that has the stars on it feels rough; I can feel some of the glitter. I doubt it was ever covered with gel-coat but on other boats I see it looks so shiny. I tried a few coats of wax which helped a little but not near what I want. I plan to do some light gel-coat work soon and am trying to get an idea how to make the stripes shiny again.

Dan K
06-01-2005, 04:02 PM
Brianaw26 welcome to the board !

I also have an 81 and what you are feeling is severe oxidation. The actual clear gelcoat has weathered away and the rough surface is the glitter. The way this is repaired is to grind away the glitter, reapply and resurface with clear gelcoat. When it gets to this point there is nothing left to buff and shine up.

brianaw26
06-01-2005, 04:08 PM
Is there a layer of gelcoat under the glitter. Or is the glitter the last thing protecting the fiberglass? Man that sounds like a pain in the *** (like a winter project to me). If i removed the glitter I would probably just stay with a clean hull.

If I clean up the glitter that is there can I apply the clear gelcoat over that? It isnt as if the glitter is peeling away just starting to get rough.

tph
06-01-2005, 06:40 PM