PDA

View Full Version : 197 / X7 Prop Suggestions Required

gwpowell
07-13-2009, 10:42 AM
I need some advise on props.
I have an 09 Mastercraft X7 with an LY6 motor.

The boat came standard with a 13.7 x 15 four blade OJ prop.
This prop I very sluggish out of the hole with a top speed of 46.3mph @ 4900RPM WOT average in two directions.

I bought a OJ 13 x 14.5 four blade which is great out of the hole but loses a little on top end speed.
Average speed 45.1mph @ 5150RPM WOT measured two directions.

When we load the boat with a barefooter there is 3mph difference top speed between the two props.

Neither of these props give me the performance I expected from this motor.

I have a friend who has a Malibu Response with a Monsoon engine running a 13x13 three 3 blade prop. This is a great setup, plenty out of the hole and great top end. Obviously it is a different hull so it's hard to compare. But should I be running with a three blade instead of the four?

What is everyone out there running?

TMCNo1
07-13-2009, 11:08 AM
Go directly to the man that knows, Eric Johnson @ http://www.ojprops.com/contact_us or contact him by pm, EJ OJPROP, http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/member.php?u=1537
Be prepared to give him any info he may need, like boat model and year, engine size, transmission, current prop, function (skiing, surfing, boarding, etc.), ballast use, fuel load, gear, nominal # of passengers, etc. He will need it to determine the best prop for your application.

corey
07-13-2009, 11:10 AM
I thought the factory prop for an LY6 was a 13x12 three blade OJ, at least most of what I've seen here is.

The guys at Redline recommend an Acme 13.25x15 three blade for footing and a 13.5x15.5 for slalom skiing.

gwpowell
07-13-2009, 11:13 AM
Thanks, I have contacted Eric already. His service is fantastic, but unfortunately he has not come up with any solutions as yet so I thought I would open up the question to those of you who are using the LY6 in the 197/X7

Age Fighter