PDA

View Full Version : 95 Maristar 200 starting problem

ahhudgins
07-02-2009, 10:30 PM
Thought I would throw this out to everyone before taking it to the dealership. It's a 350 with fuel injection (looks like a carb with 2 injectors). Since I bought it 4 years ago, it has always cranked for about 4 or 5 seconds on the ramp before firing up, and I just assumed this was normal. The last two weekends it has been cranking and not starting at different times during the day. The motor could be hot, warm, or cold and it would do it at different times. My electric fuel pump runs at the first key click and I replaced the fuel filter today. I'm an electronics technician so I hooked a scope to the injector wires. When the motor doesn't start there are no firing pulses to the injectors. If the motor hesitates or shudders when it starts up, the pulse width on the injectors will vary so it appears to be an electronic problem. Anyone ever have this problem before? I'm going to try and get a service manual from my dealer with schematics to see what sensors are involved, I just don't want a mechanic to start swapping things out at random and costing me a fortune. When I called the dealer he said "sounds like the fuel pump, I'd replace it..." I'd rather check things before replacing them, and I also don't want to get towed by an Ski Nautique.

JimN
07-02-2009, 11:49 PM
The distributor sends tach info to the ECM and without this, it won't latch the fuel pump relay, won't trigger the injectors, won't tell the IC module to cause spark, etc. Look for the purple/white wire in the four wire plug to the distributor and, using a stick pin slid past the green silicone rubber seal, make contact with the terminal on that wire. Use a digital multi-meter set to DC volts and crank it- you should see 1-2VDC on this wire. If you need another person to crank it while you make sure the pin is in contact, do that.