PDA

View Full Version : Mini-DV vs. DVD Camcorders

Ben
05-26-2005, 01:45 PM
I found a few threads for video cameras after searching, but none included the mini-DVD format in the discussion.

I'm looking to get a camera soon, baby on the way & summer is here... Any input on the best media format? I think the DVD would be slick, since I could play it in the camera, computer, DVD player & maybe eventually a portable (that we don't own yet), but am curious if the recorder would work ok in the boat. Basically, I'm wondering if the recorder will skip when we hit wakes and stuff like that. Looks like the DVD's are a bit pricey-er but could be much more useful. THe min-DVD's are probably also easier to mail.

Otherwise, I know the mini DV is a good digital media, but the only thing that will play it is the camera....

Opinions , experiences? Thanks.

Tom023
05-26-2005, 02:51 PM
Just a quick thought, although I am no expert. If you plan on importing the video into a computer to edit, go with DV format (mini tapes). The DVDs record I believe in MPEG-2 and cannot be imported and edited easily with computers.

causewayskiier
05-26-2005, 03:16 PM
The mini DV would be my choice because when you record to DVD you must finalize the disc before playing it on another DVD player. Once you finalize it you cannot record more material to that disc. So if you record for 10 minutes thats all of the footage your going to get on that disc. The tape will allow you to record 10 minutes, watch that and continue recording where you left off. Also you can buy a mini DV VCR but they are a bit pricey.

east tx skier
05-26-2005, 03:27 PM
All of the above are good points. I have a mini-dv (Cannon ZR-85). As for the camera itself, my only complaint is that it is not very good in low light situations. You can get a light attachment or fool with the settings to improve this though.