PDA

View Full Version : Dead Battery, once I jumped it the alarm is going off

Lopers22
06-29-2009, 11:23 AM
I have a 2007 X2 Mastercraft. Got it back from being winterized and the battery was dead. Once I jumped it, the alarm (buzzer) was going off. After about a minute of it not stopping I shut the boat down and took it out of the water. The boat only has about 80 hours on it and I have never had a mechanical issue with it. Any ideas?

JGMinano
06-29-2009, 12:02 PM
Is the display flashing "chk eng", but all other indicators are ok (eng temp, etc.)? I (and others on this site) have had this same issue crop up with late model X2s (mine is also an 07). Although someone will probably be along soon to explain the technical issue behind the problem, the alarm you're hearing has something to do with the fact that the battery was dead. Even though you recharged it, the alarm will continue to sound each time you start the engine until you either (1) take it back to the dealer so they can clear the error code within the boat's electronic system that is causing the alarm, or (2) get this - allow the engine to run through THREE full warm up and cool down cycles (starting the engine; allowing it to reach normal operating temp; shutting it down; and letting it cool off COMPLETELY). Don't ask my why this works...it just does.

In the meantime, you can silence the alarm temporarily by depressing and holding one of the small dashboard toggle switches (I think the "display" buttom that cycles through the depth finder, temp, hours, etc.). However, the alarm will keep coming back until you have taken one of the above-mentioned steps.

Hope this helps.

JimN
06-29-2009, 12:08 PM