PDA

View Full Version : 87 prostar 190 engine


deereman
05-17-2009, 09:35 PM
anyone know how much oil an 87 prostar 190 with a 351 ford would take? (jasper engine) we put about 4 quarts in and its already saying its over full. is it maybe the wrong dipstick? any thoughts would be appreciated.

TMCNo1
05-17-2009, 09:48 PM
anyone know how much oil an 87 prostar 190 with a 351 ford would take? (jasper engine) we put about 4 quarts in and its already saying its over full. is it maybe the wrong dipstick? any thoughts would be appreciated.


According to the owners manual, 5 quarts with a filter change, but be sure you check the oil after it has been run and warmed up. The dipstick is too long in our '89 so I marked it according with 5 quarts. There has previously been something posted about some of the 351's had the wrong dipstick installed somewhere in the assembly process. but I can't find the thread/posts.

TMCNo1
05-17-2009, 09:49 PM
Sorry, double post.

Ubugme2
05-18-2009, 03:38 AM
5 is what mine took

hkallestad
05-18-2009, 06:19 AM
I have the same "problem" with my 1989 351, dipstick is showing above the safe area after 4 quarters, Oil pressure is a tiny bit high too at that level.

deereman
05-18-2009, 10:44 AM
thanks, i knew that 4 quarts wasn't enough.

itsamcthing
05-20-2009, 08:03 AM
Just changed my oil.......my 87 Prostar reads high also with 5 quarts.........strange.....:confused:

hkallestad
05-20-2009, 10:54 AM
I've read on the forum here that it only takes 4.5 qts, if you put in too much you rear main seal could easily go.

itsamcthing
05-20-2009, 11:21 AM
well what the heck is it than...... 4.5 or 5????

deereman
05-20-2009, 12:30 PM
im gonna call a dealer today and see if they can give me an answer.

pkskier
05-20-2009, 03:05 PM
I have an '87 Tristar with an indmar 351 and for the last 22 years I have been putting 4 quarts and it shows full and I have never had an engine problem.

loeweb
05-20-2009, 03:57 PM
I put 4.5 in mine since I have owned it (4 years) Never had problems, gauge always reads normal.

jraben8
05-20-2009, 04:52 PM
I never put more than 4.5 in my '87.

ShamrockIV
05-20-2009, 04:54 PM
Just changed my oil.......my 87 Prostar reads high also with 5 quarts.........strange.....:confused:


if number one says 5 then it's 5 i assure u.

HDAVIS
05-20-2009, 08:40 PM
My question would be are you sure you got all the old oil out?

deereman
05-21-2009, 12:34 AM
yeah, we had the boat level, the hose all the way down, and we got right aroung five quarts out of it.

hkallestad
05-21-2009, 07:47 AM
I guess 4 qts or 5 qts, engine runs just as well on either one. But too much is worse than too little, so I would say put in 4 qts(if the oil filter is new), run the engine at watch the oil pressure.