PDA

View Full Version : 2007 X1 Starts, but will not accelerate?


boatnbob
05-17-2009, 01:53 PM
Engine (Indmar RTP1) and throttle got wet. Dried and flushed the engine, electronics... Cranks, guages work, tach works... Initially it would accelerate, but now it will just idle. No warning horns or check engine lights.

Any ideas will be helpful. Yes, it was submerged - but in freshwater and has been flushed x2. Long story here. Checked connectors... A mech who helped flush the engine says probably the throttle position sensor. I would love to get a schematic on this to trouble shoot as I am 3-4 hour drive to the closest dealer.

Any other recommendations on preventative maintenance when an engine gets wet would be great.
Also, if anyone has a source for an Inmar service manual for the engine and a service manual for the boat would be appreciated as well.

Thanks in advance!

AFX-30
05-17-2009, 02:22 PM
If you email the guys for Indamr with the engine SN# and model they will send you a coppy of the wiring schematics. I think is was a guy named Brian that helped me. He was very nice and I got the schematic in one day.

JimN
05-17-2009, 04:49 PM
Engine (Indmar RTP1) and throttle got wet. Dried and flushed the engine, electronics... Cranks, guages work, tach works... Initially it would accelerate, but now it will just idle. No warning horns or check engine lights.

Any ideas will be helpful. Yes, it was submerged - but in freshwater and has been flushed x2. Long story here. Checked connectors... A mech who helped flush the engine says probably the throttle position sensor. I would love to get a schematic on this to trouble shoot as I am 3-4 hour drive to the closest dealer.

Any other recommendations on preventative maintenance when an engine gets wet would be great.
Also, if anyone has a source for an Inmar service manual for the engine and a service manual for the boat would be appreciated as well.

Thanks in advance!

Did you check for trouble codes? If you have none, it's probably not the TPS. If you have throttle by wire, I would suspect that.

boatnbob
05-17-2009, 05:13 PM
Thanks Jim. I tried searching this before I asked the question. I am new to the X1, but not engines. The MPI stuff is new to me as I am used to carb's... I suspect TPS is throttle position sensor? This is a throttle by wire system.

From the behavior of the system, it appears to be the throttle system. I have an e-mail into Indmar for a schematic and a query if they are related to the throttle by wire system, or if it is a MC product.

No codes show on the boat.

I really appreciate your response to my query. This is a new project to get out of an old Supra into a decent modern boat.

sand2snow22
05-17-2009, 05:32 PM
Check the throttle position sensor plug. It's near the flame arrestor and throttle body. Pull it out and make sure she is dry. Plug it back in and make sure it is locked in tight. Good luck.

JimN
05-17-2009, 06:12 PM
Thanks Jim. I tried searching this before I asked the question. I am new to the X1, but not engines. The MPI stuff is new to me as I am used to carb's... I suspect TPS is throttle position sensor? This is a throttle by wire system.

From the behavior of the system, it appears to be the throttle system. I have an e-mail into Indmar for a schematic and a query if they are related to the throttle by wire system, or if it is a MC product.

No codes show on the boat.

I really appreciate your response to my query. This is a new project to get out of an old Supra into a decent modern boat.

Since the boat was submerged, I would check the whole harness, from one end of each wire to the other and anywhere they split. The grounds all need to be cleaned and don't be surprised if you have other odd electrical issues later on. Once water gets inside of the insulation, it works its magic and doesn't care how long it takes. With a boat like this, I would consider replacing the whole engine harness just to make sure of its condition. It's expensive but replacing it could save you countless hours of troubleshooting later.

TX.X-30 fan
05-17-2009, 06:21 PM
Good luck, like to hear the long story does it involve a plug??

Engine Nut
05-17-2009, 09:20 PM
I have attached a diagram of the complete engine as well as some information about the Pedal Position Sensor which is the device that connects to the throttle handle. If your boat has a conventional throttle control with a cable that connects to a device that is attached to the engine, that device attached to the engine is an Indmar part. If there is no conventional throttle cable, the device is part of the control handle and is a MasterCraft part.

Thanks Jim. I tried searching this before I asked the question. I am new to the X1, but not engines. The MPI stuff is new to me as I am used to carb's... I suspect TPS is throttle position sensor? This is a throttle by wire system.

From the behavior of the system, it appears to be the throttle system. I have an e-mail into Indmar for a schematic and a query if they are related to the throttle by wire system, or if it is a MC product.

No codes show on the boat.

I really appreciate your response to my query. This is a new project to get out of an old Supra into a decent modern boat.

boatnbob
05-18-2009, 12:09 PM
Terrific information guys. It wasn't a plug. I purchased the boat after it was submerged due to being blown out of its mooring and flipped over by winds. Really no significant damage other than some missing cushions and some areas to weld up on the Tower.

The engine was flushed with diesel X2 and dried out. We are working on the second run of oil to flush through to catch any stray water (both tranny and engine). The price is right and I will have a darn near new boat with only 60 hours on it. I plan on keeping this boat for a long time. This is a move up from my "jethro'd" Supra with a custom wake tower. My son will get the Supra.

I figured worst case to replace some parts and I am still ahead.

Props to Indmar. I checked my e-mail this AM after my question to them this weekend. I already had a trouble shooting guide and an offer to send me the manual on CD in my e-mail at 7AM. It doesn't get much better than that. The guys at Indmar are great for responses. (Thanks Larry!)

I will strongly consider replacing the harness. I hear your advice. I was considering tenting the boat and running a dehumidifier to finish drying it out, but figure it will not fix moisture trapped in a wiring loom.

Thanks again for all the help and excellent suggestions. I will report back on what cures the problem.

JimN
05-18-2009, 12:21 PM
I will strongly consider replacing the harness. I hear your advice. I was considering tenting the boat and running a dehumidifier to finish drying it out, but figure it will not fix moisture trapped in a wiring loom.

Thanks again for all the help and excellent suggestions. I will report back on what cures the problem.

Tenting is fine for surface moisture but water wicks into the insulation by cappilary action and dry air won't remove it. Once it's in there, the wires erode intil they go open and if you want some fun, try looking for a problem on a wire that looks new but doesn't conduct or is intermittent.