PDA

View Full Version : Thermostat

ROB
05-06-2009, 11:24 PM
I've read many of the thermostat threads and I think I have my own question answered, but... The other day I changed out my impeller on my '89 240 Maristar. At the same time I decided to take a look at my thermostat and decided to change it as well. Purchased a 180 instead of 143 or 160. For the heck of it, I ran the boat on the fake a lake for about twenty minutes. She got up to about 180 to 185. It was about 85 out that day in beautiful Souther California. Do I change the thermostat now or take her out to see how she performs in the water. Yes, I now know, normal operating temp should be between 140 and 180. Go ahead, let me have it.

ProStar Slalom
05-06-2009, 11:37 PM
I'm no pro, but I wouldn't recommend leaving a 180 in it. Water boils at 212....doesn't leave you a whole lot of room to play with. On my '87 I replaced the 143 with a 160, and for me, even the 160 allowed it to get hotter than I was comfortable with, so I went back to the 143. You're probably fine with either 143 or 160, but get rid of the 180.

CantRepeat
05-07-2009, 04:22 AM
Motors have thermostats for a reason. One of those reasons is the engine was designed to run at a set temperature and changing that isn't normally a good idea.

Jesus_Freak
05-07-2009, 01:22 PM
I'm no pro, but I wouldn't recommend leaving a 180 in it. Water boils at 212....doesn't leave you a whole lot of room to play with. On my '87 I replaced the 143 with a 160, and for me, even the 160 allowed it to get hotter than I was comfortable with, so I went back to the 143. You're probably fine with either 143 or 160, but get rid of the 180.

Few comments:

1. Water boils at 212F at sea level. Pressure varies inside your engine. At the water pump discharge it is higher (higher BP). At the water pump suction it is lower (lower BP). At the same time, running at higher altitudes increases the risk of boiling.