PDA

View Full Version : Distributor Cap and Rotor Replacement, need help please

dpolen
04-16-2009, 08:34 PM
I tried to do a little pre-season maintenance on the boat today, my plan was to change the impeller and the cap & rotor. Impeller and Distributor cap are all done, but ran into a roadblock with the rotor. This is my first time ever trying this, I thought the rotor would pop right off, but I couldn't get it to budge. I pulled fairly hard on the thing, but stopped for fear of breaking something. What's does anyone suggest I do since I've not done this before, I thought this would be a quick swapout after talking with the service guy at the dealership, but I'm stumped...looks like the thing has been there a long, long time based on the corosion I saw on the distributor cap. Ideas on how to proceed?

Thanks!
Doug

kawagaskier
04-16-2009, 09:30 PM
Its been a while since I've had one apart, but I would check for a set screw in the collar holding the rotor to the shaft.

dpolen
04-17-2009, 09:04 AM
Thanks, but mine doesn't appear to have a set screw in it...the replacement makes it look like it should just pop right on top of the distributor.

TRBenj
04-17-2009, 09:53 AM
Pull harder.

Kevin&Annie
04-17-2009, 09:54 AM
sometimes they get stuck, we cut one off of my buddies malibu a couple weeks ago. worked just fine.

thatsmrmastercraft
04-17-2009, 10:11 AM
Tap ( NOT TOO HARD) on either side of the rotor a couple times - that should help rock it loose. You can also try to insert a flat screwdriver blade at the base between the rotor and the shoulder of the distributor shaft it sits on. Or try a hair dryer to heat it up a little. Or attach a come-along to the rafter beam in the garage above the boat and lift it out. JK

dpolen
04-17-2009, 10:58 AM
Or attach a come-along to the rafter beam in the garage above the boat and lift it out. JK

That's gotta be the most fun way to attack this one!