PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here with a battery question?

stennes
05-18-2005, 01:04 PM
Long time owner first time poster. Anyway I have a 2000 Maristar VRS 210 and I want to add dual batteies what is the best way to do it as in factory? Also can I get a larger alternator? I have a tower and my son has talked me into adding tower speakers, amp and lights. Now I have delt alot with muscle car restorations and understand the wiring my problem is how is the best way as in how the factory does it. My boat is set up just like a X10 without the high power stereo system. I have all ready replaced the factory speakers and head unit but I know to hear it I will need the amp but I'm worried the single battery and stock alternator will not handle the extra load. And yes all the componets are marine grade.
Thanks,
Mike :confused:

TEX P205
05-18-2005, 01:14 PM
I just added a second battery to my 97 P205. I used a 200 amp relay to put the batteries in parallel when the engine is running. I talked with my dealer on what they thought about adding second batteries. They go the easy route with a two battery switch (Perko), which can have costly consequences if not paying attention. These are the options I found.
1. Switch
2. Battery Isolator (diodes have a voltage drop across them)
3. Battery Combiner (relay)
4. A fancy expensive Isolator/combiner system (Hellroaring.com)

TEX P205
05-18-2005, 01:18 PM
I am going to monitor charge levels in each battery this summer to see if I will need to upgrade the alternator.
I do not know what the factory install is for a 2 battery system.

tex
05-18-2005, 01:21 PM
do a search. alot of us have done this and it is well documented.

Leroy
05-18-2005, 01:22 PM
Welcome Stennes!

I recommend searching and reading the old threads as there have been a lot of discussion on all of the topics below. Then we can answer specific questions.

stennes
05-18-2005, 03:22 PM