PDA

View Full Version : oil for 87 prostar

law32ps87
03-31-2009, 06:17 PM
I have been using rotella t for the 2 years I have owned the boat, but I remember reading somewhere that they stopped putting in an additive that is needed for the flat tappet cam in my engine. Im not entirely sure if this is true, but what engine oil would be best for my engine? 351 indmar, non powerslot
thanks

Laurel_Lake_Skier
03-31-2009, 08:09 PM
If you want to stick to a multi, Valvoline VR1 20W-50 seems to be the current best choice. It has the high level of ZDDP you need for the flat tappet engine. The Rotella still has the ZDDP in the straight 30 and 40 weights as well. For a very complete discussion, check out CorrectCraftFan.com and do a search for either the VR1, Rotella or ZDDP oil.....lots of tech talk over there.

east tx skier
04-01-2009, 01:45 PM
I'm close to your latitude and run the 20W50 VR1. But given our temperatures in Texas, you'd probably be fine with the straight 40 as well.

TMCNo1
04-01-2009, 02:09 PM
I've always run Valvoline VR1 40 weight in our '89,

loeweb
04-01-2009, 02:45 PM
I've always run Valvoline VR1 40 weight in our '89,

Stupid question but what is the difference between the straight 40wt and the 20w 50 VR1?

east tx skier
04-01-2009, 03:24 PM
Stupid question but what is the difference between the straight 40wt and the 20w 50 VR1?

I'm not an oil expert, but the the multiweight oils are going to help you with lubrication at startup. Whether or not you can get away with using straight 40W oil is going to depend on how cold it gets when and where you're operating.

loeweb
04-01-2009, 03:25 PM
I'm not an oil expert, but the the multiweight oils are going to help you with lubrication at startup. Whether or not you can get away with using straight 40W oil is going to depend on how cold it gets when and where you're operating.

Thanks for the clarity. I better use the vr1 20w 50 here in the midwest.

law32ps87
04-01-2009, 05:32 PM