PDA

View Full Version : Leaking Driveshaft Strut

Davidb
03-09-2009, 11:55 AM
I took my boat out when I first bought it back in September and it took on quite a bit of water in a short amount of time, so I put it back on the trailer and put it up in our shop to work on when I got time. Well, we finally got around to it this weekend. I knew it was leaking around the strut, so I found out what the local MC dealer uses on their boats and bought a tube of the stuff to seal it off. The strut had a lot of different caulking and sealants around it, so I scraped it all off. It ends up that the recessed plate that is fiberglassed in to the bilge that the strut bolts to is cracked more than halfway around the edge. Me and Dad took a wire wheel to it and cleaned it all up. One of the guys that works for Dad who knows how to fiberglass is going to look at it this week to see if it will be something we can do there at the shop. I figure it shouldn't be that hard to fix, but I have no experience with fiberglass. Has anyone ever had this problem?

ProStar Slalom
03-10-2009, 10:29 AM
Not sure if you're talking about a crack in the metal or the fiberglass. My '87 leaked just a little....I mixed up a small batch of fiberglass resin, applied it liberally, and it sealed right up.

TMCNo1
03-10-2009, 11:44 AM