PDA

View Full Version : Tristar Trailer Help

sberard5
01-15-2009, 12:18 PM
Hey everyone,

This is my first time posting on here so bear with me.

Last year I picked up a 1989 Tristar 190 which I am in the process of restoring. The restoration is going well so far but my problem is with the trailer.

It is currently on an ez loader roller trailer, something you dont typically see. The trailer is too small for the boat and is unsafe and hard to load.

I am looking to build a new single or tandem axle trailer and I am wondering if someone out there could take some time to give me some dimensions off of their trailer and also a few pictures. That would be a huge help. I am a fabricator by trade but trailer design isnt my specialty, yet.

Please help!!

flipper
01-15-2009, 12:36 PM
I don't have any dimensions for you, but (if you don't know already) make sure the bunks on the trailer line up with the stringers. Mine has one board on each stringer, and one more on each side.

sberard5
01-15-2009, 03:10 PM
Thanks for the reply. I do know that the stringers and bunks should be lined up with eachother and appeciate the advice. I bought the boat knowing that I would be replacing the trailer. Hopefully I can get some help from a fellow tristar owner.

JohnE
01-15-2009, 03:17 PM
TMCno1 might have some spec's on the older trailers. I know he had the spec's for placement of a boat buddy. You might pm him if he doesn't see this thread.

TMCNo1
01-15-2009, 03:26 PM
TMCno1 might have some spec's on the older trailers. I know he had the spec's for placement of a boat buddy. You might pm him if he doesn't see this thread.

All I know about the TriStar trailers is, both the single axle and tandem we made by SMP,
Sweetwater Metal Products Company
(423) 337-3466 127 Industrial Park Rd, Sweetwater, TN 37874
Trailer Manufacturers, Boat Trailers

sberard5
01-15-2009, 04:24 PM
Thanks, you guys rock. I will check it out

87 TriStar 190
01-15-2009, 11:47 PM