PDA

View Full Version : Winter Projects 1,2 and 3 X2

Loffgren
12-02-2008, 09:20 PM
Ok so changed JL speaker grills, added wire loom to tower wiring both sides and cut a 6.25 inch hole under the passenger seat to allow better air flow for the sub woofer and lessen the rattles. I ordered a component JL my plan is to cut off the back of the speaker and mount with new grill. It will look like there is a speaker there, less the cone magnet and bracing..any ways heres some pics

JohnE
12-02-2008, 09:23 PM
Nice receptacle you got that door operator plugged into. :D

Loffgren
12-02-2008, 09:25 PM
And guess what my occupation is???? Electrician LOL i will get that fixed up....

JohnE
12-02-2008, 09:32 PM
And guess what my occupation is???? Electrician LOL i will get that fixed up....

Me too, hence the big grin.....:D

snakeoil
12-02-2008, 09:37 PM

All my plugs look like that is something wrong????

JohnE
12-02-2008, 09:42 PM
All my plugs look like that is something wrong????

The plug looks perfectly fine....that's on the end of the rubber cord.

shepherd
12-02-2008, 09:42 PM
Freakin' electricians....

TMCNo1
12-02-2008, 10:18 PM
Freakin' electricians....

Looks like JohnE may have a new avatar!

JohnE
12-02-2008, 10:20 PM
Looks like JohnE may have a new avatar!

Not me......Loffgren can have it. I'll keep Durama.

Witness140
12-02-2008, 10:27 PM
Can you expand on the reasons you are moving the sub under the observer seat? I'm not familiar with the airflow/rattles issue. Is that a before/after picture of the tower wiring? What is wire loom? I'm only asking because I just bought an 09' X2 that doesn't even have an assigned 'born-on' date.

JohnE
12-02-2008, 10:31 PM
Wire loom is just a corrugated plastic that protects the wiring. It is typically on most or all of the harnesses in a boat or car or truck. Putting it on the wires in where the tower hinges will keep the wires from getting pinched when raising the tower.

I got nothing regarding the sub vibration.

TMCNo1