PDA

View Full Version : Replacing impellers on x-1 ballast tanks

El Jeffe
12-02-2008, 09:51 PM
My ballast tanks stopped filling just recently. I called the local dealer here in Seattle and they suggested that I probably need to replace the impellers.

Anyone done this? Is it normal for them to wear out this quickly (2006 model year with less than 100 hours on it) We rarely use the ballast system ostly skiing and tubing on it this summer.

Any advice would be appreciated.

vision
12-02-2008, 11:22 PM
Older black impellers will definitely wear out in 100 hours. Especially if they run dry. The newer yellow impellers ( I think they switched in either 06 or 07) will last much longer.

El Jeffe
12-03-2008, 01:51 PM
OK...Thanks.

So I am a complete novice with engines etc...

Willing to give it a try.

Can anyone direct me to a place where I can gain a better understanding of how to replace the impellers...Starting with where the heck the pumps are.

The boat is a 2006 x-1

prostar205
12-03-2008, 02:09 PM