PDA

View Full Version : pre-load on phat pole


H20skeefreek
05-04-2005, 08:02 PM
hey, to the guys that use a phat pole, I just got one today, how much pre-load do you put on the pole?

H20skeefreek
05-04-2005, 08:47 PM
TTT, someone help me, there are about 30 of you that have these, stop bashing 'bu's and tell me how to use my pole.......extended pylon that is :smile:

BriEOD
05-04-2005, 08:48 PM
Pre-load...what are you talking about? :confused:

H20skeefreek
05-04-2005, 08:52 PM
Sorry, that's how they talk about it in the instructions. How tight do you make the cable when you tighten the ratchet? I know there isn't a good way to qauntify this, but I don't want to overtighten and damage the boat, or leave too loose and damage the pylon/rider/passengers. How do you know when it's tight enough?

Leroy
05-04-2005, 08:52 PM
Sorry H20SKEEFREEK;
I'm afraid to touch this one with ....... a ten foot pole :D

Do what to your phat pole? I think I'll learn something here.

BriEOD
05-04-2005, 09:17 PM
I watch the top of the pole and as I ratchet it down as soon as it starts to pull towards the bow of the boat I stop.

Laurel_Lake_Skier
05-04-2005, 09:24 PM
I pull mine forward an inch or two and use it primarily for 'footing.

6ballsisall
05-04-2005, 09:38 PM
Snug cables and I am happy

H20skeefreek
05-04-2005, 10:08 PM
cool, thanks

SteveO
05-04-2005, 10:11 PM
I pull mine forward an inch or two and use it primarily for 'footing.

Was this a quote from your wife last night?

Leroy
05-04-2005, 10:14 PM
Glad you got your answer H20skeefreek! This one is so suggestive it could easily change.....

H20skeefreek
05-04-2005, 10:29 PM
I pull mine forward an inch or two and use it primarily for 'footing.
ouch!!!!!!!!