PDA

View Full Version : Winterizing Question

CHUCKER
10-07-2008, 01:39 PM
I have a 93 S&S with the Lt-1 motor is it ok to suck antifreeze up throuth the intake and store the boat? This is all I have ever done with any other boat I have owned. I am pretty new to this boat and have heard that the antifreeze may be bad for the aluminum heads? not sure what to do, I live in Wisconsin and don't want to have problems in the spring, I usually use the -50 Rv antifreeze with the rust inhibitor. Thanks for you help with my problem, I really appreciate your advice with this matter.

Chucker

bigmac
10-07-2008, 02:53 PM
Sierra antifreeze is propylene glycol with no phosphate corrosion inhibitors. You could certainly pickle your boat with that. The problem with phosphates in antifreeze is "hot spot corrosion", where in the presence of high heat, there can be potentially significant erosion of aluminum at the exhaust ports. Obviously, if we're talking storage there is no engine heat, so likely using RV antifreeze with phosphates is fine, but if you're worried about it, go get some Sierra antifreeze from your local auto dealer.

CHUCKER
10-08-2008, 08:45 AM
Thanks for your help BigMac, I will look for some Sierra antifreeze and finnish my winterizing.

bigmac
10-08-2008, 09:29 AM
Thanks for your help BigMac, I will look for some Sierra antifreeze and finnish my winterizing.

In the event you can't find Sierra, you'll be looking for a phosphate-free propylene glycol-based antifreeze. It should be labeled as "environmentally safe" or "low toxicity", or something like that.

Note that the problem with phosphate is corrosion of aluminum at high heat - the kind of heat you get at the exhaust ports of the heads. It's not inherently damaging to aluminum. Phosphate-containing corrosion inhibitors have been used in automobile cooling systems for many decades, and when's the last time you heard of a coolant radiator that wasn't made of aluminum?