PDA

View Full Version : Depth finder says "bad"

meittunen
05-03-2005, 01:44 AM
I have a 2004 Mastercraft X-10. The depth finder would occassionaly read bad. I thought it might be because of the dirty water, but now it reads bad all the time. Where is the transducer mounted? Could it be a loose connection? Anyone else have this problem?
Thanks.

jimmer2880
05-03-2005, 06:49 AM
You didn't mention what speed it was reading bad at. They won't work over ~10 mph.

If that's not it, I would check your ground. I found that to be a problem on mine.

meittunen
05-03-2005, 07:38 AM
I found the tranducer under the engine. Two wires coming off it going to a box behind the dash panel. It does'nt work at any speed.

sfitzgerald351
05-03-2005, 11:44 AM
You didn't mention what speed it was reading bad at. They won't work over ~10 mph..

Huh? What kind of lame depth finder is that? You might as well go back to dropping a lead line if you have to almost stop to get a reading....

east tx skier
05-03-2005, 12:17 PM
Does it literally read "bad" or does it just not indicate anything. If I had a depth finder and all of a sudden it said "bad," I'd be slamming that boat into reverse! Sort of like a "we're screwed" reading.

bcampbe7
05-03-2005, 12:24 PM
Does it literally read "bad" or does it just not indicate anything. If I had a depth finder and all of a sudden it said "bad," I'd be slamming that boat into reverse! Sort of like a "we're screwed" reading.

Yeah, mine says "you might as well power thru this one because you are already screwed..." :uglyhamme

jimmer2880
05-03-2005, 12:26 PM

Thanks! - Now I need to go wipe my pudding off of my monitor!

jimmer2880
05-03-2005, 12:26 PM
Huh? What kind of lame depth finder is that? You might as well go back to dropping a lead line if you have to almost stop to get a reading....

It's the Teleflex that was in the boat when I bought it used. I think it's where the clock is supposed to be.