PDA

View Full Version : Winterizing Ballast Tanks????

Nords
09-27-2008, 09:00 AM
Hi everyone. This is my first year with my 2008 X2. I can't say enough good things about it, I love it. Unfortunately it is time to start thinking about winterization. My question is, what is the best way to winterize the ballast tanks???? If anyone has any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Roonie's
09-27-2008, 09:17 AM
very nice colors......

anyway take this at face value as I have yet to do it myself on my 07 X2. What I would do is have the ballast suck up from a bucket in RV antifreeze. I would see if I could take the inlet hose and place it in the bucket. Suck up a couple of gallons on all tanks. Then empty them. That is what I would do and I think it follows what my dealer does.

bturner2
09-27-2008, 09:17 AM
You may want to put this in the Maintainence area of the forum so more people will see it. I just happened to be browsing the site and saw it by chance. Would love to see what people recommend. I'm sure there needs to be something done so all the pumps and lines don't freeze in the winter. My boat doesn't have a ballast system but I have a friend with one that would like me to help him with it. BTW nice X2.

Roonie's
09-27-2008, 09:24 AM
Here is the official description of how to winterize your ballast tanks from owners manual (different for prostars)......

1. Locate the shut off valve.

2. Remove the winterization cap located immediately adjacent to the shut-off valve. Attach a water hose to the "T" and place the other end in a gallon of non toxic, RV-type anti-freeze.

3. Turn on one pump to fill and pump until anti-freeze comes out the thru hull. Then shut off.

4. repeat on all pumps.

5. after placing anti-freeze in all three pumps, turn all pumps to fill and pump antifreeze into the tanks and/or bags.

Jerseydave
09-27-2008, 09:51 AM