PDA

View Full Version : Ski Ropes

krra1
09-19-2008, 01:53 PM
How long will a ski rope last before it should be replaced? I am starting to run a course and was wondering if ropes loose its "snap" after a few years.

sk8salomon
09-19-2008, 02:05 PM
really depends on a few things. #1, are you talking about a general purpose ski rope for open water sking or a sectioned slalom rope? you don't want to use anything that has serious wear or frayed areas for fear of a rope breaking. i have a sectioned masterline rope that is probably 7-8 years old, still in decent shape and i still use it as a backup rope. i've never measured it to see how "in-tolerance" the sections are because i really don't care. #2, what type of skier are you? combo skis, slalom open water, slalom course beginner/adv/intermediate,etc? a rope is a rope but just depends on how you use it! is it knotted? what brand of rope is it?

Willski
09-19-2008, 02:16 PM
I usually buy one every year or two. If you ski the course a few times a week, I think you would want a new one every year. Lose their stretch and start to fray usually. I broke a rope on on side of the handle a few years ago and it about broke my wrist!!

88 PS190
09-19-2008, 02:33 PM
We get about 2 years on one open water, then retire it to our I/O for general pulling combo skiers and general fooling around, they hang out there and we throw away our oldest ones.

krra1
09-19-2008, 05:30 PM
SK8Salomon
I am talking about a section rope. Just beginning to run a course but have been open slalom skiing for years.

Skipper
09-19-2008, 09:08 PM
I get a new rope every year. Replace the handle when it shows signs of wear. Don't want to get hurt after a rope/handle breaks.

ProTour X9
09-19-2008, 09:16 PM