PDA

View Full Version : Pin Striping Questions?

Slinkyredfoot
08-21-2008, 09:23 PM
I bought a new vehicle and have been experminting with adding some subtle pinstripes and like the results of what I am trying to do so far

Has anyone else done pinstriping on a vehicle? and if so any suggestions and tips as far as the best kind of tape...etc, etc would be appreciated..

I know Harold... worthless without pics my camera mysteriously disappered.

TX.X-30 fan
08-21-2008, 09:32 PM

Loose it in the slammer?? :D

André
08-21-2008, 09:35 PM
I bought a new vehicle and have been experminting with adding some subtle pinstripes and like the results of what I am trying to do so far

Has anyone else done pinstriping on a vehicle? and if so any suggestions and tips as far as the best kind of tape...etc, etc would be appreciated..

Harold did this all his life...:)

TMCNo1
08-21-2008, 09:46 PM

I have been doing signage and hand painted pinstripes for nearly 39 years.
3M makes about 90% of the tape/vinyl striping tape on the market today, most is for private labels. I would stick with the 3M tapes that can be purchased through most any auto paint supply stores.
The vinyl must be premium and also the adhesive that holds it on the paint. Cheap vinyl will come off the adhesive leaving the glue or won't even stick well and the cheap adhesive will dry/crack causing the vinyl to release and you've got a crusty mess that will require sanding and buffing or maybe a rubber removal wheel. Get quality stuff! Remeber the darker the finish of the vehicle, the quicker the vinyl and adhesive will deteriorate.
Painted stripes,

Slinkyredfoot
08-21-2008, 10:12 PM
Loose it in the slammer?? :D

You are one funny guy and thanks bhole....;)

Slinkyredfoot
08-21-2008, 10:19 PM
I have been doing signage and hand painted pinstripes for nearly 39 years.