PDA

View Full Version : Wakesurfing '02 x-7 - taking on water

rounhdhere77
08-07-2008, 02:10 PM
hey guys, i am just starting out and having a ball. we can surf for a long while with my set up (fac. ballast filled, 350 on the seat surf side, 350 on the floor surf side).we often have to have a tighter turn then i would like but i think its just figuring out (open to suggestions).

my questions is about taking on water. i taking on a lot, so much its comming onto the floor in the boat from the engine compartment. i think its comming in the blower vents when we slow down, any suggestions?

Andyg
08-07-2008, 05:43 PM
It can also be coming in where the bilge pump discharges through the side of the boat. We setup my 08 197 to try and do some surfing a few weeks ago and took on a lot of water and I know it wasn't coming in the blower vents. We had the rear underseat ballast full (~450 lbs), one person in the bow (180lbs), then me (215lbs) in the drivers seat and 3 or 4 friends (700-900 lbs) on the gunnel and rear ski locker. We tried for two days and could only get a few seconds of slack in the rope. The sweetspot of the wake was so small that it was hard to stay on it. When we had it setup we only have about another inch before the rub rail was under water.

rounhdhere77
08-08-2008, 10:05 AM
my builge comes out the front and i dont see that ever being under water so i dont think thats it.

what side where you surfing? i have heard that the port wave would be better.
we can surf for a long time, i am 6ft and 190 and on the liquid force venter 5'6".
we have the same boat so here is my set up so you can try...

fill the factory ballast under the seat, i put a 350 on the seat surf side and then another 350on the surf side on the floor beside the engine. we have gone out with myself, my wife and one other and had some really long runs. the third person sits on the ski locker on the surf side.