PDA

View Full Version : need help on prop/prop shaft

mccobmd
07-29-2008, 12:26 AM
Okay, so I've been boating for 30+ years and the odds are eventually I was going to hit something. Was pulling a wakboarder in 16ft of water and heard/felt a huge thump. shut the boat down and went back to pick up the boarder. discovered a 6 inch diameter log floating 6 inches under the water about 12 ft long :mad:. After this boat was running loudly and rough and pulling to the right ( I have a 2006 X1). Found that there was vibration and loss of power so knew it had to be prop shaft or prop. From the attached pictures even the mechanically challenged like myself can tell that ideally the center of the prop and shaft will line up with the rudder. The second picture is the brace for the prop shaft. Does anyone know how to tell if the brace is bent or the shaft itself? I live 100 miles from the dealer and would like to have them have the parts before I get there.

Funny how trusting God changes your perspective. At first I was really upset but then I realized, it's only by the grace of God someone wasn't hurt and that I'm able to afford the repairs. I actually was able to be thankful for all the time's I didn't hit something when I wasn't paying attention. It's not going to be cheaper knowing I was watching and still hit it but it is easier to live with. All you can do is all you can do.

FrankSchwab
07-29-2008, 12:35 AM
Actually, everything looks pretty good. It is normal for the rudder to be offset from the propshaft; it allows removing the propshaft without pulling the rudder, and may help offset pull related to the rotation of the prop.

I'd take a close look at the prop and see if the blades are bent; maybe rotate it by hand and see if there's an obvious wobble. That's the most likely bent component. You could have your dealer inspect the shaft/strut to see if they're bent.

/frank

mccobmd
07-29-2008, 12:42 AM