PDA

View Full Version : Explorer Lease - Good Deal

PeteS
04-22-2005, 09:48 AM
My fiance and I are leasing an '05 Explorer XLT, and we've been quoted a rate of $417 per month, with $0.00 down. It'll be a 36 month lease (3 year), with 15,000 miles per year allowed.

This is using the Ford X-Plan, and some rebates, which brings the invoiced price down to $29,000 from around $32,000. I'm new at the leasing thing, but tried to do some research and shop around. Does that per month lease number sound about right?

jsonova99
04-22-2005, 09:55 AM
What would cost to buy it? That sounds a little high, but again, I've never done a lease on a car before. Just make sure that you aren't almost paying for it.

aprgriggs
04-22-2005, 10:36 AM
lease can be good but this sounds alittle high. I would look into buying with all of the incentives it just works out better most of the time.

lakes Rick
04-22-2005, 10:53 AM
Unless you have money to burn, leases are always a poor decision in my opinion... With car rebates of up to $10,000 being advertised I think you are getting it without KY........

erkoehler
04-22-2005, 10:59 AM
Buy a car, don't lease it....

east tx skier
04-22-2005, 11:04 AM
My payments on my '01 Expedition (purchased last year) are $269 per month. I don't envision a scenario where I would lease a car.

OhioProstar
04-22-2005, 11:06 AM
So if the x-plan gets you to $29k, the $3k in national rebates that are shown on the ford website would get you to $26k....that would be around $500/month if you pay the tax and title. You then would not have to worry about mileage. If you don't drive much more than 13k per year and have no intention to purchase the vehicle at the end of the term...then a lease might make sense. If you plan to drive more or to buy it at the end it makes no sense at all.

Tom023
04-22-2005, 11:13 AM