PDA

View Full Version : Anyone in the mortgage biz??

wiltok
04-16-2005, 04:20 PM
Here is my sitution - I am in the process of buying a second home (on a lake - very excited). I am closing in two weeks and have been working with a mortgage broker. I have filled out the paperwork, appraisal has been completed, credit run, etc... Decided last week to lock 5.875 on a 30 year conventional. Now, with rates dropping with the weak markets, is there any way to get out of the "lock" and re-lock at a lower rate? When initiating the process with the broker, I asked about the abiltiy to relock down and he said I could not. If things keep falling, I really don't want to re-finance immediately. Anyone know a strategy?? Thanks!

pdoppenheim
04-16-2005, 05:44 PM
I'm not a lawyer or a mortgage broker, but I have some real estate experience. You may be able to simply not close on the loan and be out the costs. And/or you can always refuse to close and let them sue you. They probably will not bother because it';s such a negative image for them. To keep your business they may go ahead and let you get the loan at a lower than the lock rate. It would be the same as paying an additional point or portion of a point on the cost of the loan.

If you pay a bit more up fron to release the lock you still wind up with a lower rate and they keep your business.

A good real estate or business lawyer might be worth the $150 to $200 he'd charge you for a letter and a phone call.

Keep us posted.

6ballsisall
04-17-2005, 08:39 AM