PDA

View Full Version : Just a couple questions!

Chaser_rct
06-20-2008, 08:54 AM
I took my boat out for the first time since i bought her two years ago and backed her down in the water. It started fine and i kicked it in reverse and backed off the trailer. When i pushed it into foward NOTHING! I ran back to the transmission and pushed it into foward by hand. I have noticed that the cable doesnt pull it far enough foward to engage. Does anyone have pictures on how this is hooked up or any advice? Ok just a few more...my throttle doesnt seem to be hooked up right either because when i go to netural it doesnt return to idle and i can wiggle the cable at the throttle linkage and it finally does.. Im clueless. Ok last final thing will waxing and buffing metal flake make it look better? Its an 81 with 351W

flipper
06-20-2008, 09:45 AM
Sounds like you just need to adjust your cables....or replace them. I'm not an expert, just giving you a bump until the ones who really know come along.

Bellinghamster
06-20-2008, 10:18 AM
Arrg! Newly updated IE popup blocker just dumped everything I'd typed... here 'goes again:

It's very important that the trans. shift lever reach the detent for each position. It's actually a hydraulic valve that controls the pressure to the clutches. If the valve is not fully open, the clutch will slip, wearing it out.