PDA

View Full Version : 85 351, have a few questions

jmcentire
06-10-2008, 10:19 PM
So I have had my 1985 190 for about a month now and am getting ready to do some maintenance. While looking at the engine I have a few questions, this is my first time working on an "older" engine so be patient.

http://www.mcentirefam.com/tmc/engine1.jpg

http://www.mcentirefam.com/tmc/1.jpg

Is that supposed to be like that? Doesn't seem correct to me...

http://www.mcentirefam.com/tmc/2.jpg

What is this thing and are the wires coming out of it supposed to be hooked up to anything?

http://www.mcentirefam.com/tmc/3.jpg

This looks correct, but I was just wondering what it was.

jmcentire
06-10-2008, 10:20 PM
Also this is the stock ignition correct? And is that inline fuel filter supposed to be there since there is a spin on filter before the fuel pump?
http://www.mcentirefam.com/tmc/dist.jpg
I will do some searches but does anyone have some links on electronic ignition upgrade?

One more question, did this boat originally come with a lanyard or kill switch? I got stuck on the lake last night because it would not start, so I want to know if that is another item I need to check when troubleshooting. Here is another two pics just for fun:

http://www.mcentirefam.com/tmc/engine2.jpg

http://www.mcentirefam.com/tmc/boat1.jpg

Thanks Everyone!

flipper
06-10-2008, 10:39 PM
Can't help ya much other than #1 doesn't look right to me. What a beautiful boat though!!!!

kjb
06-10-2008, 11:05 PM
#1 looks like a car water pump with the heater hoses blocked off, if that is what it is, it will not hurt anything

BrianM
06-10-2008, 11:17 PM
#2 is the water temperature sending unit. #3 is the oil pressure sending unit. Ignition looks pretty normal for a standard points setup. That additional inline fuel filter is not going to hurt anything. No kill switch/lanyard on the '85.

jmcentire
06-10-2008, 11:54 PM