PDA

View Full Version : How do I check the spark sequence?

MC Old Skool
06-04-2008, 05:29 PM
Alright I'm a newbie here but I would like to start off by thanking all of you. I have read your threads in the past and they have definitely helped me solve many of the problems I have encountered since purchasing my boat 4 years ago and I truly appreciate all of the help.

My issue at the moment is that my 1990 Prostar with a Ford Indmar 351 needs a bit more help than I can provide it. My stubborn nature and pocket book have kept me from taking it in for service. I also prefer to do the work myself.

I did a driveway test before I took it out his season and everything sounded great. I towed it out to the river and it started up without hesitation but every time I went to back down it stalled. I pulled the boat out of the water and was able to put it into drive and run it quickly just to make sure the prop wasnít seized. It seemed to be an only under load issue.

I purchased a remanufactured holley marine carburetor 4160 before the trip and immediately pointed fingers at the carb guy thinking that was the issue... After returning it, the bench testing begged to differ.

So I went through replacing anything it could have been the fuel pump, oil water separator, checked the fuel tank for clogged or collapsed hoses and fittings, also checked the screen, replaced the impeller, and put a new distributor and rotor on, as well as a fresh set of plugs. I also bypassed the ignition coil relay since my ignition is electronic. FYI my starter is new last season as well and I am definitely getting juice.

Once I put all of the new parts on and cranked it over it started once sounding strong and died out. Now I canít even get it to start???

I think I may have the firing sequence wrong, a loose ground or the timing is off.... Any other suggestion?