PDA

View Full Version : Bad Fuel Pump?

Heinhideout
06-02-2008, 08:18 PM
I am a newbie! I am not getting any gas to the engine of my 2003 X-2. I have the 350Hp engine. I have tried the Shrader valve and no gas there. Followed it back to the top of the intank fuel pump. Disconnected the lines from the engine and turn on the pump. It seems to turn on, but no gas is pumped out. Is it a bad fuel pump?

School Skier
06-02-2008, 08:47 PM
More than likely. Did you check you're fuel filter? Seems like the boat is too new to have that kind of a problem. I've heard from the MasterCraft techs don't run your tank too far down it's tough on the internal pumps. I just had the fuel pump replaced late last summer with over 900 hours on it, that pump on my 97 190 is an external pump. You might want to be careful so there is no debrie in the fuels you are using. I had a bad experience, now whenever we portable fuel to the boat in 6 gallon tank we filter it through a Mr. Gas it holds out debrie and water. Water is always with us on boats no matter what.
Good Luck!

Heinhideout
06-02-2008, 08:50 PM
Thanks! I did run it low and had heard that may have taken its toll. The boat is fairly new, but I have over 600 hrs on it. Another stupid question of course. Fuel filter is at bottom of the pump? I see the two tabs on each side of the filter, how do you remove?

School Skier
06-02-2008, 08:58 PM
My filter has easy access I just needed a special wrench to get it off. The filter is above the pump so I don't know if I'll be much help to you. I'm only experienced with my 97 nothing newer.

Heinhideout
06-02-2008, 10:36 PM
Thanks! Pretty sure its the filter at the bottom of the pump. Not quite sure how to get it off....

bigmac
06-02-2008, 11:52 PM