PDA

View Full Version : Starter System Checks Out, But Starter Doesn't Spin

Smithsr
05-13-2008, 09:21 PM
I have an 87 Ford Indmar Mastercraft. I took it out of winter storage, replaced the drain plugs, impeller, reconnected the hoses, reinstalled the battery, turned the key and heard, “click”.

The voltage meter on the dash read low, so I thought my battery was low and decided it was time for a new one. After replacing that, I turned the key again and heard, “click”.

I had a spare starter in my basement that I thought worked (long story) so I put that in. Again, “click”.

I went and bought a new relay and installed that. Again, “click”.

The wire connecting the relay to the starter was getting hot, so I thought that might be the problem. I replaced that. Guess what? “click”.

I tightened everything down so I wouldn’t have a loose connection. “click”.

I asked the guys at my local boat shop to test the starter – they said it bench tested great.

I then used jumpers to bypass the battery cables to the relay. “click”.

Then bypassed the relay and went directly to the starter. “click”.

Everything from the battery leads, to the battery lead to the starter reads 12.45 volts. No loss in voltage.

The only thing I can’t figure out (other than why it will not turn) is why the dash voltage meter reads low – around 9.

I am out of tricks and knowledge. Any thoughts on what this could be?

Any help would be appreciated.

gguppy
05-13-2008, 09:40 PM
The first thing i would do now is try to turn the motor by hand use ahaft drive socket set. the motor could be lock with fluid or sezed.

JLeuck64
05-13-2008, 09:44 PM
Yea, second that.

Also, don't forget the ground side...

Smithsr
05-13-2008, 09:57 PM
I turned the flywheel and the motor didn't turn at all.... I didn't even consider that it could be seized.

Smithsr
05-13-2008, 09:58 PM
Yes, I checked the ground side.

Laurel_Lake_Skier
05-13-2008, 10:00 PM