PDA

View Full Version : Removal and replacement of a propeller shaft?

454Prostar190
05-01-2008, 02:25 PM
I am going to replace the propeller shaft on my '82 S & S due to a slight bump last trip out. I found a new shaft at Skidim and need to give them an actual length to place the order. So, this weekend I will be removing the old shaft. Is there anything that I need to know or any little tricks that anyone can share with me as to this task? I have never done this before but, know that I am capable. The old shaft runs true to the strut and then I have a total of 1/4" to 1/2" wobble behind the strut at the propeller end of the shaft that is visible. I get a vibration at about 3000 rpm. Can a shaft be straightened or should I just buy a new shaft and be done? Any upgrades that can be done? Thanks, Rick

CPlane Pilot
05-01-2008, 03:03 PM
Easy enough to remove. 1. Remove prop. 2. Unbolt shaft coupling from transmission flange. 3. Remove coupling from shaft. 4. Slide shaft from the outside of the boat through the strut. A good machine shop should be able to straighten the shaft, saving you some money over a new shaft.

454Prostar190
05-01-2008, 04:16 PM
Easy enough to remove. 1. Remove prop. 2. Unbolt shaft coupling from transmission flange. 3. Remove coupling from shaft. 4. Slide shaft from the outside of the boat through the strut. A good machine shop should be able to straighten the shaft, saving you some money over a new shaft.

Thanks CPlane, do I need to buy a prop puller? Rick

CPlane Pilot
05-01-2008, 05:02 PM
Rick, sometimes you can get away without one. It all depends on how stuck it is. Penetrating oil (PB Blaster and the like) and/or heat may due the trick. If you do need one, I have used the harmonic prop knocker type (I know that skidim.com has them) and was amazed at how well it worked. Cheaper the the other type too.

jrhollow
05-01-2008, 06:52 PM