PDA

View Full Version : Marine Amplifier


SaltwaterMC
04-30-2008, 11:38 PM
Does anyone know of a good marine power amplifier that can be run at 2 ohms bridged? Thanks.

JimN
05-01-2008, 12:05 AM
Why do you have to run it with a 2 ohm load? That's a hard load for most amps- what is your budget for this amp?

JBaker
05-01-2008, 07:31 PM
Does anyone know of a good marine power amplifier that can be run at 2 ohms bridged? Thanks.

I'd second JimN's question. Why 2 ohm's bridged? What is the application?

DBR
05-01-2008, 08:46 PM
Read the spec's, they tell all

JimN
05-01-2008, 09:05 PM
"Read the spec's, they tell all"

Yeah, but they don't tell what it will sound like and it still has to be installed correctly. Ever seen the plastic cover of a distribution block or fuse holder melt because the power cable was too thin? Nothing like a 500W amp that only puts out 50W because the power was inadequate or the speaker load didn't make it happy. Besides, 2 ohms bridged is effectively 1 ohm, so most amps puke when they see this.

Eagle Lake Rebel
05-01-2008, 10:25 PM
I have not heard or used their equipment, but Boston Acoustics claims their GT series amps are stable @ 2 ohms bridged. Do your amp a favor get back to a 4 ohm load when you bridge an amp. I never connect a bridged amp to anything lower than 4 ohms.