PDA

View Full Version : Oil Filter!!!!!! Help!!!!!

BCBlazers
04-18-2008, 12:51 AM
I just bought my MC last March and haven't changed the oil yet, so i'm still a Newb. I need to change the oil this weekend and I need some help on the oil filter. Its a 2004 X-2 w/ the 350 MCX. Any help w/ this would be awesome and if you have any tricks about changing the oil or gettin her ready for spring, i'd appreciate it!!!

Thanks guys,
Forrest

88 PS190
04-18-2008, 01:02 AM
http://www.tmcowners.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=18005

05 MCX should be the same.

If you look at your filter it should have some numbers on it, with that number any NAPA/Autozone/even wally world should have a filter that works. I agree with bigmac avoid the fram, but otherwise there are some good filters for not much money at any of those places.

(

djhuff
04-18-2008, 12:18 PM
When you take the old filter off, use a plastic bag around it so that when the oil drips out, it doesn't get all over your pretty bilge.

Filter should be a Penzoil PZ-3 or equivalent. Do a search on here to find out which one to use if you can't get a penzoil.

Don't worry about marine oil, just make sure it is CH-4/SJ approved. I've been using shell rotella t lately. It'll be with the Diesel oil.

If you are going to use the drain tube at the bottom of the oil pan, you need to get that engine good and warm before it will flow good. Not just water temp, you need to let it run a while to get the oil good and hot, otherwise it won't come out of that little tube (unless you want to wait a week for it to all drain).

Other than that, enjoy it, that is one of my favorite times with my boat. Just me and the boat. Kind of bonding time. One of the reasons why I do it 3-4 times a year.

vogelm1
04-18-2008, 01:32 PM
Plastic bag around the filter to catch oil is a good idea. I've used a cut down one-gallon milk jug with good results too. If you spill a few drops in the bilge, wipes up, no biggie. Just becareful of the carpet:cool: